July, 16th 2018

Five compositions nominated for the Tera de Marez Oyens Award 2018

During the Gaudeamus Muziekweek 2018 the Tera de Marez Oyens Award 2018 will be awarded. This year's award is meant to bridge the gap between "music school" and "labour market". The award is a commission (with a value of €2.000) to write a new short composition for a professional contemporary music ensemble, to be performed in the Gaudeamus Muziekweek of 2019.

Nominated pieces (in alphabetical order):

Boven hoge gebouwen, Celia Swart (Koninklijk Conservatorium, Den Haag)

Drifting, voor sopraan en sopraan saxofoon, van Remy Alexander (Fontys, Tilburg)

Solo Violin nr. 1, Zacharias Falkenberg (Artez, Arnhem)

Suite in a mental space, part 1 and 2, Sara Zamboni (Koninklijk Conservatorium, Den Haag)

Torrents and Streams, for mixed ensemble and laptops hidden in the audience, James Alexandropoulos – McEwan, (Koninklijk Conservatorium, Den Haag)

The nominated pieces will be performed during the lunchtime concert at the Gaudeamus Muziekweek, on September 7th 2018, 12.30 hrs., after which the award ceremony will take place.

More information:

The jury of the TDMO award 2018: Claudia Rumondor (composer) and Vanessa Lann (composer), Fie Schouten (musician), Loes Visser (conductor) and Shane Burmania (concert programmer). Chair: David de Marez Oyens.


Search Oeuvre Catalogue